Red Sea Max 250 All In One- chiller questions

cronerw2007

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I’m new to saltwater. I just purchased a Red Sea Max 250 all in one (used) for a really good price. I’ve read there may be issues with the lights/hood causing the tank temp to run hot. Anyone have issues with this? If so, did the chiller correct the issue? And what type of chiller will work good? Thank y’all

muggle reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 130D, and had that very problem. I had to run a chiller. You might be able to run the front hood open, along with the cover for the protein skimmer, then there is a fan that can be added. It will also help if it is in a room with no direct light. The cooler the room the better. Watch your temperatures and if it won't run under 82 degrees you will need a chiller. I personally think under 80 works best. If your tank is wanting to sit above 82 though you will need the chiller in my opinion.

OP
OP
cronerw2007

cronerw2007

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m making RO water tonight and start cycling tomorrow night. I didn’t think of leaving the front of the hood and skimmer cover open. I’d like to try and keep the temp around 78 if possible. Is there a specific chiller I need to be on the look out for if the temp does get too warm? I have the tank on an interior wall with no direct sunlight and my wife keeps the house at 70.

muggle reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0