Red Sea Max-E 170 Stocking

gilia

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm new to saltwater tanks, but have had successful freshwater tanks previously. I'm in the planning/discovery phase of setting up a to-be reef Red Sea Max-E 170 (45G). I'm still in very early phases because I like to do my research and have an idea of what my end point is before getting started. Being new to the hobby, we are happy with the idea of the AIO. We will start FOWLR and eventually hope to grow into corals, potentially even a mixed reef tank.

I'm interested to know if I'm on the right track for fish stocking ideas (compatibility, appropriate for tank size, etc). We love species interactions so we want 2 clowns (and eventually an anemone if possible), as well as a shrimp goby/pistol shrimp pair. These are our most desirable features. How many other fish can we have and are these good options (in order of interest):

Midas blenny
6 line wrasse or other wrasse (largely for purposes of potential parasite removal) - what is the best wrasse for parasite removal and maintaining a small, peaceful reef tank?

Alternatives:
Royal gamma
Orchid dottyback
Yellow assessor
Firefish
Geometric pygmy hawkfish

Ideally we want fish/species not wild caught and ones that will each have their own niche areas of the tank.

For CUC and/or interesting inverts, we're looking at these guys (in order of interest):

Trochus snail, Nassarius snail, Cerith snail
Emerald crab
Tuxedo urchin
Cleaner shrimp
Pompom crab

Any comments or suggestions are welcome, thanks!

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

omar91

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there, I'm downgrading to a Max E-170 and I'm planning of moving the following fish there:

2 Ocellaris clownfish
2 Pajama Cardinal
1 Royal Gramma
1 Six Line wrasse

I also currently have a Tomini Tang that I might re-home as I'm not sure if the E-170 will be enough for it.