Red Sea Max S-650 LED

AquaCave
AquaCave Logo Banner
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
Oh ok!
A Pump would make life easier for me as well. Currently im lifting 5 gallon jugs to fill this huge ATO tank. Mine lasts about 7 days between fill up's. High humidity FL helps with evaporation.
Got the hose set up last weekend. Sure is nice.

1) go to RODI storage
2) turn on pump
3 ) walk to tank and filler her up...
4) cautiously remind myself that all my electrical is directly under the ATO fill..urrrrrrgggg
 
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
Neptune is set up...

Everything is mostly working.

Flow meter is not but also discovered if the water reaches the backup overflow then the meter is partially submerged.. so likely have to re plumb that anyway. Also it runs to the UV whichI still can't figure out how to send back to the display...

Been busy so I will calibrate the trident this weekend. But the numbers are weird...

No fish or coral yet and All and PH keep dropping...

Ask currently at 7.3 and PH reading around 7.7.
Mag is 1250 / Cal fluctuates between 500 and 475 but seems to be on a decline right now.

Also the chiller is way more active now that the apex is up... Need to explore why that would be. Tem in my house is around 68-74 these days and the tank is settling around 78.6.

Salt was getting bad readings but seem to be settled in at 34 which is confirmed by a Milwaukee Digital.


IMG_0471.jpeg
IMG_0472.jpeg
 
BRS
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
After having the skimmer (Red Sea 900) run about 2 weeks straight now I am still getting crazy micro bubbles. best I can guess is the water level in the sump is to high... can't really figure out how to drop it. Going to try and lift the skimmer on platform.
 
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
Found the first 2 fishies... These little guys are doing great in QT now for a week. I did Safety Stop Rapid QT dips on them before going into holding. Eating Great. No signs of distress yet. Haven't decided if they need to be treated prophylactically yet? Maybe just deworm?

66648004931__9CD895CB-1199-4744-A840-CA9BBF74D48F.jpeg
 

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
16,656
Reaction score
104,494
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nottinghamshire England
After having the skimmer (Red Sea 900) run about 2 weeks straight now I am still getting crazy micro bubbles. best I can guess is the water level in the sump is to high... can't really figure out how to drop it. Going to try and lift the skimmer on platform.
If you want to drop the water level in the sump, assuming your using the float ATO just adjust the actual float so it tops the water up at a lower level. Drop the float angle a bit lower down if that makes sense.

Or as you say, just sit the skimmer on a platform, that’s probably a simple solution.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

Floyd-

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
391
Reaction score
236
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Navarre, FL
If you want to drop the water level in the sump, assuming your using the float ATO just adjust the actual float so it tops the water up at a lower level. Drop the float angle a bit lower down if that makes sense.

Or as you say, just sit the skimmer on a platform, that’s probably a simple solution.
I have a V1 650 sump but I think the new ones are the same. Its all the same level in the sump except the last chamber with the pump and ATO float. Moving the float only changes the level for the pump and nothing else. If you need the skimmer in less water then you need to lift it up.
 
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
I have a V1 650 sump but I think the new ones are the same. Its all the same level in the sump except the last chamber with the pump and ATO float. Moving the float only changes the level for the pump and nothing else. If you need the skimmer in less water then you need to lift it up.
thanks I ended up having to lower the ATO float and then drain about 4 inches of water out of the sump...
 
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
The Frostbite Clowns transitioned nice out of QT to the DT tank. They have nearly doubled in size. Hard to take pictures of though. Added 4 new fish to the Holding tank. Biota Yellow Tang, Picturesque Dragonet (which LFS had labeled Green Mandarine), Diamond Back Watchman Goby and a Blue -Spotted Jawfish. Everyone is doing great so far. The Dragonet is eating Brine Shrimp and Mysis mix. I have seen it chasing pellets but not sure it can actually eat them. I put a dish with sand and rubble for the Goby and Jawfish and they have shoveled it all out and created a cove that they battle for daily... Such interesting fish to watch.
IMG_0548.jpeg
IMG_0540.jpeg
IMG_0597.jpeg
IMG_0577.jpeg
 
OP
Johny_Dough

Johny_Dough

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
Added some corals but not much to look at yet.

On Zoa Island I have - Greenbay packers, Sunny Delight , Iron Man and Blue Hornets... They all may or may not have Zoa Pox. ridding that out a little longer before I start trying to treat since apparently the only treatment is Faran 2 which you can't get.

On Euphyllia Cove I added this Frogspawn and I grabbed a basic Torch but it is big maybe 5 heads. So far so good. I have not perfected the Superglue technique yet... but hey it's a learning process. I grab a photo of the torch tonight. Need to figure out how to take Blue light photos as they look so much better in the blues....All the green on the one below glows florescent.


IMG_0566.jpeg
 
AquaCave

How much of your saltwater reef tank is automated?

  • Nothing is automated

    Votes: 70 14.0%
  • 25% or so

    Votes: 154 30.9%
  • 50% or so

    Votes: 110 22.0%
  • 75% or so

    Votes: 111 22.2%
  • Close to 100%

    Votes: 51 10.2%
  • Totally Automated (we need proof)

    Votes: 3 0.6%
Aquariums Wholesale Live coral auctions every week
Top