• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Red Sea / Max S-Series / Discussion

PanchoG

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
2,567
Reaction score
17,834
Location
The Boro, TN
I just don’t want to cut the hose in case I ever decide to use the stock return I won’t have that option if the click hose fitting is cut off.
Yes, I agree I am thinking to keep the current pump as back up. Also the hose do not has as much impact on the flow as the PVC.
 

ibondy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
219
Reaction score
382
Location
Vancouver, WA
yes, all valid points. I just bought a bigger pump ;) and dialed it down via Apex. I am running about 90% @50W and getting 500 gph through the sump, and that is a plenty. Factory drain and return pipes can't take much more. When I turned both of my pumps together, I topped little aver 600 gph.
 

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
11,231
Reaction score
72,667
Location
Nottinghamshire England
@vangvace
Lets us know which way you go.

Your S-650 manifold should be ready fit (turn valve and barb) to push a chiller or UV, but on the newer 650s, I think Red Sea plugged off that end of the manifold.
On the S650 the main pump is not powerful enough (without having a major effect on return flow) to attach anything to the extra (long) manifold at the rear of the tank

Mine is the 2016 version so it has the manifold and I was going to do exactly that, with a UVC etc. I spoke to Kevin at Red Sea who confirmed what I’ve said above, and if you read the instructions with the tank, it mentions it’s fine in the 400 and 500 but not the 650.

So I think as you said above, you really need an extra dedicated pump, or more powerful return
 

Nobbygas

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
63
Reaction score
88
Location
Offenbach nr Frankfurt, Germany
@vangvace
Lets us know which way you go.

Your S-650 manifold should be ready fit (turn valve and barb) to push a chiller or UV, but on the newer 650s, I think Red Sea plugged off that end of the manifold.
I think Red Sea actually recommend that you do NOT run water to the Chiller via the manifold on an S-650.
 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
I think Red Sea actually recommend that you do NOT run water to the Chiller via the manifold on an S-650.
Yeah,
They did change that on the 650.
 

vangvace

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2019
Messages
594
Reaction score
676
Location
IL side of St Louis
So the unverified flow numbers are in. 350-400 gph though the line with the stock pump.

Caveats:
Additional head pressure from:​
Flow goes pump>silicone tubing>2" UV unit>silicone tubing>barbfitting>thread to slip>union>sensor>stock Red Sea Manifold>VCA 2 outlet random flow generator.​
The pump barn fittings still have the 1/2" portions on them.​
*Edit:I do not know the age of the return pump and its parts. *​
I haven't completed the math for what my head loss should be.​
I want to recheck my electrical connections and make sure they aren't loose.​

I might try a Varios8 or taking the UV out of line to see what happens to my numbers.

My new pump came in today. Not nearly as sexy as an Abyss, but the Sicce ADV 7.0 increased my GPH by about 150-200 over the stock pump. Attached is how it flows.

 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
Guys,
Last summer Red Sea USA helped to make the Abyzz return go smooth as silk.

If you have any updates, please fill free to post.

Hope you are doing well.
 

Sm1823

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
I am looking at buying a S-650 Max second-hand. It is the older style with T5 lighting. Has actually never been used believe it or not! Do any of you know if the RSK 900 skimmer will fit in this older style sump? Red Sea website says that RSK 900 will fit in the reactor chamber for the newer 650, but wondering if the answer would be different for the older style. Thanks!
 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
I am looking at buying a S-650 Max second-hand. It is the older style with T5 lighting. Has actually never been used believe it or not! Do any of you know if the RSK 900 skimmer will fit in this older style sump? Red Sea website says that RSK 900 will fit in the reactor chamber for the newer 650, but wondering if the answer would be different for the older style. Thanks!
Congrats!!

lol
Never been used!!

Looks like the new ones come with the 900


And the sump chamber sizes have stayed the same. They just added a filter sock piece where the down pipes come down.

You can still use that part of the manifold that fed the old C-Skim, to push reactors.

FWIW:
If you take it led, keep that 10 bulb t5 canopy. You can grow any acro in any spot of that tank with that canopy.
 

Sm1823

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Congrats!!

lol
Never been used!!

Looks like the new ones come with the 900


And the sump chamber sizes have stayed the same. They just added a filter sock piece where the down pipes come down.

You can still use that part of the manifold that fed the old C-Skim, to push reactors.

FWIW:
If you take it led, keep that 10 bulb t5 canopy. You can grow any acro in any spot of that tank with that canopy.
Thanks for your reply! I was thinking of keeping the t5s and spending money on a better skimmer and doser etc. Are you saying to 10xT5 would be great for SPS or only if I somehow retrofit with additional LEDs?
 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
Thanks for your reply! I was thinking of keeping the t5s and spending money on a better skimmer and doser etc. Are you saying to 10xT5 would be great for SPS or only if I somehow retrofit with additional LEDs?
That 10 bulb t5 canopy is all you'll need to grow any coral that you want.

If I ever go back to a full blown acro reef, I would most likely put that canopy back on.

Good luck and hope you land that setup!!
 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
@Sm1823

FWIW:
If your going to run the t5's on that 650, don't be surprised that you'll need a chiller.
 
OP
GoVols

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
11,558
Reaction score
34,449
Location
In-The-Boro, TN
I run RSK-600 in my S650 sump. Will fit right in with plenty of room for other stuff.
Ivan,
Thanks for the incite.

Have you been doing well?

Freddie
 

ibondy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
219
Reaction score
382
Location
Vancouver, WA
Ivan,
Thanks for the incite.

Have you been doing well?

Freddie
It's been up and down as always in this hobby. Fought algae sprawl with success, but everything is back to normal. Dealing with dossing pumps not dossing sometimes ;(. Setup RedSea 250 for my wife and slowly starting to stack up. Trying to switch from Nopox to bio-pellets reactor. Otherwise, having bunch of fun. ;)
 

Tdukes

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
I have a RedSea Max S-650 that I wish to add a chiller. I have read that it is recommended not to plumb it off of the manifold like the smaller tanks as the “pump is not strong enough”. Could I just install a larger pump and then be able to plumb off the manifold?
 

vangvace

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2019
Messages
594
Reaction score
676
Location
IL side of St Louis
I have a RedSea Max S-650 that I wish to add a chiller. I have read that it is recommended not to plumb it off of the manifold like the smaller tanks as the “pump is not strong enough”. Could I just install a larger pump and then be able to plumb off the manifold?
You could by moving up to a Sicce ADV9000 pump but I would recommend a pump rated for the gph of the chiller or a dc controllable one. It is easier than trying to get the flow settings correct and there is a possibility of the larger pump still being too much for the display.

I run a Varios2 into my chiller and the chiller output then goes into my algae scrubber.
 

Do you have a iPad or similar type screen mounted somewhere near your tank for control or display?

  • YES

    Votes: 58 29.0%
  • NO

    Votes: 134 67.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 8 4.0%

Online statistics

Members online
2,319
Guests online
4,729
Total visitors
7,048
Top