Reef A Palooza NY What to Expect?

starypotter

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

My question is... in terms of purchasing livestock, what could I expect from Reef A Palooza? Is it mostly dry goods, is it mostly hard to find large aquarium species', mostly large expensive corals? I live about a half hour from where the event is happening so I figured that I might stop by one of the days, is it worth it for a small tank beginner as far as purchasing goes?

I'm only really interested in getting frags, and the more starter varieties of fish that I'm not even sure a vendor would even bother with at a con, will things like that be there at a more affordable price than if I were to just go to LFS?
(Read as I'm on one heck of a budget after purchasing the set up and I've been told that you could get some good deals at the con.)

A little background-
I'm just getting into the hobby, my DT has had water in it for a little over a week now. My DT is 29 gallons (30x12x18) with a 20 high sump, filled with probably about 70 pounds of live sand, and about 32 pounds of live rock, about 75% from an established tank, 20% LFS/CaribSea, and 5% dry. Sump is going to have a deep sand bed, and DT has a somewhat deep sand bed, not sure the measurements yet as aquascaping isn't finished.

I have a little bit of GSP that the person I got the rock and sand from gave me, and I just got a small starter CUC, a peppermint shrimp, 2 halloween hermit crabs, 2 turbo snails, and 6 sifting snails.

I plan to stock with a pair of clownfish, a goby, not sure which kinds specifically or what else is going to go in there. I also tend to prefer the looks of soft corals and anemones, but I want to leave options open for hard corals as well.

I have 3 10gallons that I plan to get started as QT this weekend so that they're prepared for when I start stocking my tank.

OP
OP
starypotter

starypotter

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0