Reef pi help

Buddy524

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Manchester
I printed an put together a reef pi. All 16 outlets are working. I am stuck I am not sure how to wire a two wire float switch as a input to shut the return pump off incase of an overflow? My set up now is a polarized switch on a 12v DC relays that is connected to a float switch so if the water in the display over fills it shuts off and I have to manually turn it back on.i would like to remove the old system and do The same with reef pi if possible?
 
AS

Peace River

Thrive Master
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
15,796
Reaction score
119,695
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Central Florida, USA

attiland

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
2,044
Reaction score
2,849
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United Kingdom
I printed an put together a reef pi. All 16 outlets are working. I am stuck I am not sure how to wire a two wire float switch as a input to shut the return pump off incase of an overflow? My set up now is a polarized switch on a 12v DC relays that is connected to a float switch so if the water in the display over fills it shuts off and I have to manually turn it back on.i would like to remove the old system and do The same with reef pi if possible?
Two wire goat switch is a push button in terms of functionality
 

robsworld78

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
566
Reaction score
775
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Edmonton, Canada
I printed an put together a reef pi. All 16 outlets are working. I am stuck I am not sure how to wire a two wire float switch as a input to shut the return pump off incase of an overflow? My set up now is a polarized switch on a 12v DC relays that is connected to a float switch so if the water in the display over fills it shuts off and I have to manually turn it back on.i would like to remove the old system and do The same with reef pi if possible?
A good method for a float switch is to put it inline on the signal wire going to your relay. If the relay is on and the signal is cut from float switch it'll turn off. This is nice as it doesn't rely on the Pi so even if it locked up the relay would turn off.
 
OP
Buddy524

Buddy524

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Manchester
I watched one of the videos on reef pi. With just a two wire float. I put one lead on ground and one on gpio followed the video and put it in python. Then went back into reef pi and set a macro. Everything works awesome now. My other system I had done was with a 12vdc relay that would shut off the pump if the float went up. It was on a polarized switch I did that so I had to manually turn the switch back on so if the tank water was getting to high then shut off then when the float switch went down again turn back on. I didn't want the pump to keep Turning back on if there was a problem. So that worked out good until I was away and there was a power loss and the switch shut off and being a manual switch I couldn't turn it back on. Now I have the reef pi set if water gets to high shut down and wait 15 minutes to restart. It's working perfect now. I was just a little stuck on the wiring and python. Thank you for reaching out to me. I know you guy's are busy. I love the program that you all have designed and making it available for everyone. Thanks Rob.
 
Tidal Gardens

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,059
Reaction score
15,702
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
You can wire a float switch in may different ways, its a choice between simplicity (just use gpio and GND) and robustness.
I recommend this: https://raspberrypihq.com/use-a-push-button-with-raspberry-pi-gpio/
Its a decent compromise that has worked for me. This is using a GPIO with 3.3V pull up (with a resistor). You can use this circuit to wire up any switch (float) and use the corresponding gpio pin to create an inlet and then use that in your ato module (check the adafruit ato guide for details )
Let us know how it goes
 

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

Have you ever had a nano reef tank?

  • I have one now (leave a photo in the thread)

    Votes: 234 45.4%
  • Yes, but in the past

    Votes: 117 22.7%
  • No and no plans to have one

    Votes: 90 17.5%
  • No but I want to have one in the future

    Votes: 66 12.8%
  • Other

    Votes: 8 1.6%
Top