Reef Pi / Robo Tank Lighting - Help Needed

AquaKey

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
12
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Portland
@robsworld78 - Trying to get the lighting setup with reef pi and robo tank but running into an issue. Tested with my multimeter and looks like reef pi is only changing the voltage on ch1 (Max 10v or 5v depending on the dip switches) all other channels only output 12v no matter what I change in reef pi.

It's the latest robo tank, pi zero w 2 (as the deluxe package). Reef pi 5.2. Attached is the setting on the pins, matches the manual. Have reloaded/rebooted multiple times. I've tried the 3.5mm plugs and the screw terminal pins too, same behavior. The dip switches also have no effect on ch 2-8.

Any thoughts? Happy to diagnose with some guidance.

Screenshot_2022-06-18-21-41-06-21_e4424258c8b8649f6e67d283a50a2cbc.jpeg
 

robsworld78

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
835
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Edmonton, Canada
@robsworld78 - Trying to get the lighting setup with reef pi and robo tank but running into an issue. Tested with my multimeter and looks like reef pi is only changing the voltage on ch1 (Max 10v or 5v depending on the dip switches) all other channels only output 12v no matter what I change in reef pi.

It's the latest robo tank, pi zero w 2 (as the deluxe package). Reef pi 5.2. Attached is the setting on the pins, matches the manual. Have reloaded/rebooted multiple times. I've tried the 3.5mm plugs and the screw terminal pins too, same behavior. The dip switches also have no effect on ch 2-8.

Any thoughts? Happy to diagnose with some guidance.

Screenshot_2022-06-18-21-41-06-21_e4424258c8b8649f6e67d283a50a2cbc.jpeg

Great thanks, lets see what you get on the controller board. The pins for the PWM channels are correct.

If you open the controller you'll see a row of 16 resistors behind the RJ45's, these are all 0-5v PWM signals. With all the ports turned on check the voltage on either side of the resistor, they should all be 5v when set to 100%. I circled a could ground points in black that you can use.

PWM-outputs.jpg
 
Never Wash Another Nasty Filter Sock Again!
OP
AquaKey

AquaKey

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
12
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Portland
Great thanks, lets see what you get on the controller board. The pins for the PWM channels are correct.

If you open the controller you'll see a row of 16 resistors behind the RJ45's, these are all 0-5v PWM signals. With all the ports turned on check the voltage on either side of the resistor, they should all be 5v when set to 100%. I circled a could ground points in black that you can use.

PWM-outputs.jpg
Yep, they all output 5v when I set them to max.
 
OP
AquaKey

AquaKey

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
12
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Portland
Yep, they all output 5v when I set them to max.
Wow, totally my fault, figured out my problem. Since I had the doser setup for awhile, I forget there is another cat5 cable for the additional pins driving the LED channels (facepalm) sorry! Thanks for the help.
 

robsworld78

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
835
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Edmonton, Canada
Wow, totally my fault, figured out my problem. Since I had the doser setup for awhile, I forget there is another cat5 cable for the additional pins driving the LED channels (facepalm) sorry! Thanks for the help.
Haha, no worries, I should have spotted that immediately, channel 1 was working because it's sent though the other cable.
 
Nutramar Foods

Have you ever had problems as a result of "over filtering" your tank?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 16 41.0%
  • NO

    Votes: 22 56.4%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 1 2.6%

New Posts

Tidal Gardens
Top