Return Pumps: How long has yours been running? Which has been BEST for you?

How long has your current return pump been running without issue?

• Days

Votes: 8 1.2%
  • Several Weeks

Votes: 22 3.2%
  • Several Months

Votes: 65 9.4%
  • Over 6 months

Votes: 88 12.8%
  • 1 Year or more

Votes: 142 20.6%
  • 2 Years or more

Votes: 111 16.1%
  • 3+ Years

Votes: 254 36.8%

• Total voters

Cthehentz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well my Vectra L1 just died yesterday after 6 years without one issue, regular cleaning and calibrations. Luckily I had a L2 on backup so the swap only took 30minutes.

jeffp1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using a Catalina Aquariums 2200 for over 10 years. Have a backup that I swap every 6 months, clean and put in box until needed. I bought the backup about 3 years ago.

Rob Mathews

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bump for an old post. My reeflo dart has been running 14 years (Throttled back) at 5ft of head with no issues.

L.R.

Attachments

• 17031708031004200770121936200894.jpg
    17031708031004200770121936200894.jpg
    144 KB · Views: 16

reefnfun

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reeflo Hammerhead. Old school, they keep going and going. I have to change the seal about every year and a half.

ThaBeast

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I returned to old school as well, running iwakis on my current tank. My last tank had 2 vectra returns and 2 closed loop vectras. I cleaned them every 6 months and 2 spares were barely enough to keep the tank running as designed. They felt like rebranded Chinese crap, a shame because they were really quiet pumps

rtparty

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0