Revamped Quarantine Procedure!

Tide Pool Aquatics

View Badges
Reaction score
This is how I've been quarantining for the past several months. I thought it was time to officially post the updated version! The biggest difference is that I'm prophylactically treating with a variety of medications now.

Quarantine

Here at Tide Pool Aquatics, we take pride in the health of our fish. Our quarantine procedure starts with our suppliers. We only work with the best in the industry to assure that we are receiving healthy specimens from the start. Moreover, transportation stress is minimal due to our short distance from the distributors.

Once received and acclimated, we perform a freshwater bath on all fish to minimize the introduction of disease into our systems. Once the bath is complete, we move our fish with specimen containers or by hand to the main quarantine system. This system holds over 300 gallons and is running two oversized protein skimmers. Unless the fish exhibits excessive signs of disease, they remain in the main quarantine system for a minimum of 2 weeks. They are then moved to tanks with no medication and listed for sale.