RO DI first time user

heranatomy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have recently purchased a RO DI unit (SpectraPure ProPlus)

I haven't used it yet, but I had some questions before I kill my water bill, lol.

These are total noob questions, and I apologize ahead of time.

First question: When I first start my system, I know I have to flush water through it initially. I was wondering if I could stop the flow and restart it again. For example, I think I'm going to use the cold water from my washing machine hoses. I would need a bucket to flush the system. I would like to turn off the water, while I take the bucket and dump the "flush" water. Then, I would like to set the clean output and waste output lines in separate containers and restart the flow. Is it okay to start and stop it? Or would that make me have to flush again?

Second question: Say my RO DI unit is rated for 90gpd. Is this of usable water or a combination of waste and usable water?
Also, what happens to the actual unit if I produce MORE than that? Does it automatically shut off or is the output just all bad?

Third question: Say I want to produce only 30 gallons of good water...is it okay to shut the flow on the unit and NOT use it to it's full potential?
Does anything I've already mentioned harmful to the unit?

Thanks guys.

AZDesertRat

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A RO/DI won't add much to your water bill, you probably won't even notice the difference in fact. Say you make 100 gallons of treated RO/DI in a month, that means you will have 400 gallons of waste or 500 total gallons usage. My water is like $2.50 per thousand gallons at its highest rate so I used $1.25 for the month. $1.25 for 100 gallons of RO/DI is cheap compared to buying it for 0.25 to 0.75 per gallon at the LFS.