Rock growth

the_chef_pierre

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm totally new to saltwater aquariums and was sold this small live rock being told that theres a mushroom coral on it. Not sure if this is a good coral or not but what I'm more concerned about is the other growth on the rock. Its like redish sticklike growth. Not sure if this is some kind of algae or nuisance. Kinda looks like it might have been something that was trimmed off at some point and grew back. Can anyone help identify what this rock growth is? Thanks

20200122_230642.jpg

Euphyllia97

Empty wallet member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it hard (calcified)? If it is, you probabely have one of the most hated pest called “vermetid snails”.

OP
OP
T

the_chef_pierre

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
are you referring to the coral part or the hairy things? the coral opens and closes to the lights but the other thing appear to not be super hard and can move a bit from the water flow

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
T

the_chef_pierre

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
how bad would it be for my tank if i chose to leave it in? its a small rock but kinda fits with the aquascape, plus im kind of hoping the coral on it will grow into something nice (or am i just wishful thinking. still new to this). I have nothing in my tank yet other than the rocks and live sand. Still confused about whether or not its even cycled yet (posted about this on here but havent heared anything back yet). thanks for helping identify the hydroids

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0