Rookie, New Build, Rubble or Sand?

CastAway

Prone to wander, never lost.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a newbie, new build, and trying to decide, sand bed or rubble? have a 150g display tank, 60g sump with 25g refugium area. Refugium has a <em>flow through </em>design, and I'm worried high flow will blow sand out. My goal with the fuge, in my ignorance, is pods and fauna for a SPS centric tank. I've been reading, but have not found anything really definitive, so, I thought I'd ask for input. Be gentle.

Attachments

• Delivered1.jpg
    Delivered1.jpg
    89.2 KB · Views: 426

nivram

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a great looking sump. Not to confuse you even further, but if your goal is to run chaeto in the refugium, you do not necessarily need to run either. The benefit to not running either sand or rubble, it will be easier for you to spot and clean detritus.

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to R2R! To be clear you are talking about for your refugium right?

OP
OP
CastAway

CastAway

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, I'm talking about live rock rubble and/or sand for the refugium, pictured in this thread. The middle area of the sump is the refugium area. There's room for 5" of sand in the bottom (if I can keep from blowing it out) and/or live rock rubble. If I use rubble I intend to use removable baskets for easier cleaning. I was really hoping for as large of a variety of macro algae that will grow, most hoping for reds as I read their more beneficial. I've consider using both sand and rubble but am concerned I might affect the advection by placing rubble on the sand and end up with some potentially bad areas.

Palting

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0