Royal Gramma has Just bit off my new Tiger pistol shrimps tail

Stodge12001

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I have just added a tiger pistol shrimp to my tank along with a yellow watchman goby

When I added the pistol he landed on a rock and went into a hole facefirst with his tail popping out.

After about 10 minutes of me watching the shrimp, the royal gramma swam over. I thought he was just inspecting his new tank mate. Then to my surprise he went for the pistol shrimp, picked him up at his tail and carried him over to his cave where he bit off the tail off the pistol shrimp which then escaped.

I was horrified this happened. And want to find out 1,will the shrimp survive and 2, will the tail grow back?

I think in hindsight I should of fed the tank before adding new addition.

I am quite new to the hobby and have had my tank since November 2020

Any advice on this would be great thanks.

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Google search turned up this bit of hopeful news: https://www.njreefers.org/threads/regeneration-of-cleaner-shrimp-tail.63770/

If he didn't lose too much and IF more of shrimp doesn't get eaten by fish then it may take numerous molts. He might never be same, but sounds like he has potential to be happy.

Few months back I added two medium peppermint shrimp to the skunk cleaner shrimp I already had, so up to three shrimp total, 25 minutes later I was back down to 1 very scared skunk cleaner shrimp. Six line wrasse became most popular fish in tank as he'd break shrimp into bits other fish could eat. Had to pull out shrimp legs from all over tank - fish played tug-of-war with remains. It was very sad.

OP
OP
S

Stodge12001

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the info. Tail is Completley gone, no sign of him since. But he is in the same location where the yellow watchman goby is hiding in a cave so hopefully they will pair up. If he survives