Sally's Maiden Voyage: 120g adventure

SallyWho

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been dreaming of and planning for a reef tank for about 8 years or so. Last year, I finally joined this forum where I'd been stalking for several years. This year, I've finally started putting it all together. It's been a long journey already, and I still have tons to learn. I'd like to start off with a huge thank you to everyone who has given me advice and helped me out of more than a few jams already- I'm really grateful! Without more experienced people telling me that I'm over- complicating something, or that there are better ways to accomplish what I'm trying to do, I wouldn't have made hardly any progress at all.

Now, to the good stuff! When I first started dreaming of a reef tank, it was a 75g. I thought that would be a decent starter size, considering the types of fish I was interested in. Then I realized that I was already planning the upgrade to a 90g, so why not just start with a 90? Yup, you guessed it. Again I began planning to go bigger before I even got off the ground with a 90. So here I am with a 120g as my first saltwater tank! I bought a lot of equipment used, and hit last year's Black Friday sales for some new stuff.
20171122_144440.jpg

Then I began working on what I called "infrastructure." I didn't get any pictures because everything was so filthy, but a friend of mine who is super handy took me down into the hellscape of my crawl space, and we used a header, jacks, and concrete blocks to support the section of flooring under the future tank's location. The tank runs parallel to the joists, and I didn't want to risk sagging. He showed me everything every step of the way and made me do parts of it myself, so that if I need to add another header or adjust the jacks, I can do it myself. I appreciated that. I may be a single woman, but I don't like being an ignorant or helpless one!