Science classroom natural reef & lagoon- no ‘filter’ or artificial lights

Gregg @ ADP

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been meaning to set up a reef and lagoon system in my science classroom for a while, and have finally gotten around to it.

Reefers who really love Neptune controllers, LEDs, skimmers, GFO, chaeto chambers, RO/DI, testing parameters, etc might not get too stoked with this thread, but I really want to see what kind of reef I can create with just water movement and sunlight.

Let’s have fun with this thread. Being a science teacher, I love predictions, hypotheses, data, and analysis. Please feel free to be a scientist or science student and make predictions and offer your analysis here. If you have a good question and a prediction, I will have my students carry out the investigation and measure our results.

Here is the system breakdown:
- heavy duty (1000lb/shelf) storage rack with wire shelves (so light can go through)
-2 20g high tanks, drilled in the top back w/1” bulkheads
- 36” sump (who knows what I’m going to do with it)
- sunlight
- Chicago tap water :grimacing-face:

I set up one of the tanks last year as a shallow lagoon/mangrove tank. It is set up with a plenum-like system, where I put fiberglass screen on top of some 1” PVC, crushed coral on top of it, and then a few inches of live sand/oolite. There is a riser pipe that comes up from under the plenum, and I’ve had a powerhead in that. The idea is to draw water down through the sand bed and over the mangrove roots for uptake, as well as creating an anoxic zone for NO3 reduction. It took a while for the mangroves to take off, but they finally did.

Now I have set it up so the lagoon tank is above the reef. Because I’m not yet sure of how I want the final set-up to be, I have simply connected the mangrove drain into the reef, and a small powerhead in the reef pumping up to the lagoon. Looks like this before water going in:

jGWYX8E.jpg

Last edited:
OP