Setting up 16 biocube

new2reefing97

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys I’m new to saltwater aquariums I have a 16 gallon biocube cycling, looking for some anemones any help where to get them would be greatly appreciated, also any helpful tips etc

Rtaylor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys I’m new to saltwater aquariums I have a 16 gallon biocube cycling, looking for some anemones any help where to get them would be greatly appreciated, also any helpful tips etc
I would recommend you forget about getting an anemone for a minimum of 6 months, 9-12 months would be better since you are new to the hobby. Anemones require an established tank with biodiversity and microfauna that takes time to establish. It is very rare for new hobbyists with immature tanks to keep anemones alive for any length of time.

In the meantime there is a lot of research and planning you can do to decide what type of anemones you want to keep and what livestock is compatible with them.

Anemones vary greatly in size, preferred location (sand, rocks, etc.), flow requirements, and lighting requirements. They also have significant differences in their likelihood of harming other tank inhabitants.

I LOVE anemones (purchased 8 this week)! So I get the desire, but after 4-5 years in the game, I also get that it really is important to wait.

Welcome to reefing and best of luck with your tank!

OP
OP
N

new2reefing97

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I appreciate the information, question if all I want is a pair of clown and some anemones and maybe other coral where’s a good spot to start after my tank is ready for live stock

Rtaylor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I appreciate the information, question if all I want is a pair of clown and some anemones and maybe other coral where’s a good spot to start after my tank is ready for live stock