• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Should I add more live rock

WIReefer

Taking it day by day
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
3,140
Reaction score
11,377
Location
Wisconsin
I have a 55 Gallon Tank with live asking if I should add more live rock to the established tank
85AD5074-2F14-4943-A433-DC2E7ECECBAC.jpeg
85AD5074-2F14-4943-A433-DC2E7ECECBAC.jpeg
Can’t hurt to add more live rock but if you like the scape of your tank should be fine. If you have a sump could always add more in there.
 

PatW

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
1,892
Reaction score
1,355
Location
Orlando, FL
The old school threw in rock until tanks looked like they had a rock wall. Many people are going with a much more minimalist approach today (less rock). I think that you have plenty of rock. If you want to add more for aesthetic reasons, do so by all means. But I don’t think you need any more for conversion of ammonia to nitrates.
 

stevenliu9

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
509
Reaction score
485
Location
Madison WI
I think it's really your aquascaping preference. Only caveat is you also want to leave some good swimming lane space if you plan to add robust swimming fish (like a wrasse).
If you are concerned about biological filtration, you can also consider just adding bio blocks into sump to reduce the need for rock.
 
OP
K

kyngnemesys

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
Queens
The old school threw in rock until tanks looked like they had a rock wall. Many people are going with a much more minimalist approach today (less rock). I think that you have plenty of rock. If you want to add more for aesthetic reasons, do so by all means. But I don’t think you need any more for conversion of ammonia to nitrates.
Thank you pat i didnt think about that. Greatly Appreciate the information
 
OP
K

kyngnemesys

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
Queens
No to more rock, yes to more flow if thats all cyano I spy.

If you want more liverock consider TBS due to how much life you will actually receieve with said liverock.
Im using two gyre icecaps 3k should I get something stronger?
 

Tankkeepers

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
Messages
575
Reaction score
705
Location
47906
Cryptic zone are good to have as they are low flow low to no light environments sponges etc will grow and improve overall health of tank and coral as theres a direct relationship between sponges and coral and adding more flow will not fix the cyno problem 1 bit thats either a water issue cuc not large enoff for tank or your rock is still leaching phosphates into the water as that tank does not look to be what I would call cycled looks brand new likes its only been setup less then a month and you have nothing beneficial growing to help stabilize the enviroment to rig the tank of that just do water large changes every 3 days untill the nutrients are leached out of everything as the sand and rocks balance themselves with the water so high in water rock absorbs high in rock water absorbs and cyno feeds also blowing the cynic off with a turkey baster or sucking it up will help alot as cyno can break down food on its own bypassing the normal cycle I hate hearing the add mlre flow fixes it as kt will not you need to get stuff that will eat it and prevent it from catching food and breaking it down a good cuc goes a long way
 

Saltyreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
2,050
Reaction score
1,691
Location
Bay Area, Ca
Cryptic zone are good to have as they are low flow low to no light environments sponges etc will grow and improve overall health of tank and coral as theres a direct relationship between sponges and coral and adding more flow will not fix the cyno problem 1 bit thats either a water issue cuc not large enoff for tank or your rock is still leaching phosphates into the water as that tank does not look to be what I would call cycled looks brand new likes its only been setup less then a month and you have nothing beneficial growing to help stabilize the enviroment to rig the tank of that just do water large changes every 3 days untill the nutrients are leached out of everything as the sand and rocks balance themselves with the water so high in water rock absorbs high in rock water absorbs and cyno feeds also blowing the cynic off with a turkey baster or sucking it up will help alot as cyno can break down food on its own bypassing the normal cycle I hate hearing the add mlre flow fixes it as kt will not you need to get stuff that will eat it and prevent it from catching food and breaking it down a good cuc goes a long way
More than I hate trying to read one long run-on sentence?
;)
 

Tankkeepers

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
Messages
575
Reaction score
705
Location
47906
Probly not but that's all me and honestly what works for one person wont always work for another so just trial and error is the only real way to tell I just get tired of the more flow fixes it I was told the same thing 15 years ago had so much had sand storms and still had cyno growning
 

Tankkeepers

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
Messages
575
Reaction score
705
Location
47906
That's what this hobbie is all about learning as much as you can finding a good starting point based off others experience then refining into what works for you and your setup and it even goes as far as what works for this tank may not work for another tank you take care of becouse of the slight variations good luck to the op and I hope it flourishes into a long lasting gorges reef one day but in my opinion as long as you have enoff surface area for bacteria to grow for the amount of livestock you have or will have it will be fine mkre livestock equals more surface area needed so if your running a light bioload then more then likly you have plenty of rock in there and as others have said you can add more to a fuge/sump down the road if you need it and dont want to add it to your dt
 

Do you have a iPad or similar type screen mounted somewhere near your tank for control or display?

  • YES

    Votes: 106 26.0%
  • NO

    Votes: 286 70.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 3.7%

Online statistics

Members online
2,065
Guests online
4,707
Total visitors
6,772
Top