Should I buy an already established tank or start ground up?

kbnh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby, i was looking to start with a used 120 gallon tank and building from there but i came across what seems like a very good deal that comes with a 100 gal tank, sump, skimmer, sand, rocks, 4 fish, heaters, etc... its about 45 min to an hour away, my question is if it is worth it to deal with the fact that i would have to rush to keep the fish alive, take down the tank and stand, load up all the stuff, (i have read also the water from the tank as much as possible?) then reassemble everything heat the water back up and make sure the conditions are right? all that for + - $600? if i were to build it out on my own it would cost WAY more but i would have time and not have to deal with transporting water and fish? any help is greatly appreciated!

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby, i was looking to start with a used 120 gallon tank and building from there but i came across what seems like a very good deal that comes with a 100 gal tank, sump, skimmer, sand, rocks, 4 fish, heaters, etc... its about 45 min to an hour away, my question is if it is worth it to deal with the fact that i would have to rush to keep the fish alive, take down the tank and stand, load up all the stuff, (i have read also the water from the tank as much as possible?) then reassemble everything heat the water back up and make sure the conditions are right? all that for + - $600? if i were to build it out on my own it would cost WAY more but i would have time and not have to deal with transporting water and fish? any help is greatly appreciated!
I've bought a few turnkey tanks and do not regret it at all. I've got a few tank moves documented in my build thread. If it's in the size you want, is in good shape, and a good deal, I say go for it!

mdb_talon

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score