Shroom on the loose! Help!

SoCaliReefin

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
431
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
SoCali
So I bought a rock with some sick shrooms at my LFS and they have been doing great for almost 2 weeks. Then this morning when I looked in the tank I noticed one missing off the rock so I searched and found it laying behind some LR. What should I do? How do I mount a loose shroom?
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Captain Nemo

Look Ma, it's Nemo!!
View Badges
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
2,057
Reaction score
9
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
you can try to catch it and glue it down, but good luck. If the shrrom dosent want to be stuck it wont be. its a hit or miss sort of thing. Good luck bro!
 
OP
S

SoCaliReefin

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
431
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
SoCali
you can try to catch it and glue it down, but good luck. If the shrrom dosent want to be stuck it wont be. its a hit or miss sort of thing. Good luck bro!

I caught the sucker, and threw it in with a few small LR I sometimes use instead if plugs or discs hoping it will mount. Can I glue the foot? Doesnt seem possible.
 

Reef UP

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
1,925
Reaction score
97
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Idaho
I caught the sucker, and threw it in with a few small LR I sometimes use instead if plugs or discs hoping it will mount. Can I glue the foot? Doesnt seem possible.

Get a clear small bowl just big enough to fit over it and a few pieces of rubble and drill a whole bunch of holes all over in it 1/8"-1/4" and place over the top of it and put a little rock on top of the bowl so it doesn't drift away wait a few days and it'll be attached to something!
 

Sea MunnKey

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Messages
2,141
Reaction score
1,784
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Toronto, CANADA / BORNEO Island
It's an easy task to get 'shroom to stay permanently on a spot .... first off ... do you have a refugium or a spot where there's no water movement or flow at all?

What I'd do is place the loose 'shroom on top of the intended object (eg. in the refugium)and let it sit there for at least a week or less and after that you're all set to place it anywhere in your tank without the fear of it coming loose ever again!! I've tried elastic bands & glue and they're not as effective.

For example ... I've got those regular Red 'shrooms multiplying and growing upwards on the back glass panels of my 'ole tank!!

HTH,
Paul
 
Last edited:
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

bige

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
1,229
Reaction score
11
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
austin
I have glued the foot and it worked. I prefer to trap them like mentioned above. Cup with holes. Then they might get at least some sand or rubble on their foot and then glue that down. But if it doesn't like where it is, it might move any way
 

How long does it take to you to get an inch of acropora growth? (on average)

  • A couple of weeks or less

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Up to 1 month

    Votes: 9 8.4%
  • Up to 2 months

    Votes: 10 9.3%
  • Up to 3 months

    Votes: 19 17.8%
  • Up to 6 months

    Votes: 25 23.4%
  • Up to 12 months

    Votes: 8 7.5%
  • 12+ Months

    Votes: 3 2.8%
  • I can't grow acropora

    Votes: 29 27.1%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 4 3.7%
Corals.com
Top