Sick clownfish?

Jazzyspazzy143

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I’m new to the saltwater fish world and I have this clownfish who I think might be sick. He eats great and and can be very playful with my other clownfish but over the past couple of days I’ve noticed that he tends to stay close to the bottom of the tank gasping for air and looks more pale than normal. He still plays with the other clownfish only he looks more like he’s trying to hide from her than play. I checked my water parameters and everything says it’s good. I’ve googled what it could be but there are so many different possibilities I’m not sure what it is or how to even try to treat him, any help would be greatly appreciated.

3FFC5C18-877A-46DA-9CBB-A11AAA47596D.jpeg 426D224A-FDDC-4FD4-9960-B0A1245ABDA4.jpeg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Clownfish don't "play" in the sense that we mean it...but they do fight for dominance. I see a little nick out of the black clown's dorsal, nothing serious, but it tells me they may be going through some issues.

The big issue is the rapid breathing, that can indicate gill parasites or water quality issues. What is your ammonia level testing at? What elase is in the tank other than the second clownfish?

Jay

OP
OP
Jazzyspazzy143

Jazzyspazzy143

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Clownfish don't "play" in the sense that we mean it...but they do fight for dominance. I see a little nick out of the black clown's dorsal, nothing serious, but it tells me they may be going through some issues.

The big issue is the rapid breathing, that can indicate gill parasites or water quality issues. What is your ammonia level testing at? What elase is in the tank other than the second clownfish?

Jay