Skimmer experts please advise and check my logic

PedroYoung

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been running a Vertex Alpha 200 skimmer for about 4 yrs and have never really gotten it tuned the way I want (dryish skimmate). I have a 200G tank, with pretty decent fish load (3 pyramid butterflies, borbonius athais, 3 bimac anthias, 2 yellow tangs, blonde naso tang, kole tang and mandarin). They also are fed pretty heavily via @AVAST Marine Plank autofeeder 2x day and manual frozen medley once per day, plus a variety of seaweed sheets. There are basically 3 variables I have to work with
1- Sump level
2- Wedge pipe
3- Pump intake nozzle

I've always assumed I understood how adjusting each of those 3 variable would change skimmer output, but man it seems like it just never does what I expect. Here are some pics of the setup. (this pic shows the carbon reactor running, but I only run it about 3 weeks every 3 months or so, currently out of service)

Untitled by Peter Young, on Flickr

and pump with intake nozzle

Untitled by Peter Young, on Flickr

So I'll address each of these variable, give my assumption, and if I'm wrong, PLEASE let me know
1- Sump level. This is the one I haven't really tinkered with. Designed to run at 10" depth, I run at 9" (I can adjust this by simply adding some more water to the system and raising the baffle). My assumption has always been that deeper depth (say 10" instead of 9") would lead to more bubble ejecting up the neck, leading to more water/less organics and wetter skimmate.

2- Wedge pipe. I've always assumed (sometimes tested) that a wide open wedge pipe (opening in the wedge facing the outlet) would lead to less water/ more organics in the collection cup.