So I’m thinking of buying a custom aquarium

Are large tanks worth it?

• Total voters

Kidagirl8

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title says I’m thinking of building a custom aquarium but have been advised I shouldn’t get a large one like I want to. Im not sure whether or not I want to listen to that advice but what are your opinions? Im actually pretty new to saltwater but am hoping to be more adept by the time I get it.

This aquarium is going to be in my new house I build after everything calms down so nothing is set in stone yet and it’s probably years away. I like to plan ahead though and knowing beforehand what I am getting will let me do research on their care better.

I was wanting to get a really large one as a peninsula and was thinking of going with custom aquariums to build it. I also want to get a Reefbot Pro and dosing system to go with it. At this point I am mostly researching and trying to figure out what I want and what I am willing to pay for. Disregarding price are there other upgrades that are possible to lessen the maintenance I would have to do?

As for what I want in it I was hoping to have Mandarins, Sapphire Damselfish, Stingrays, and Tiger Tail Seahorses. I also have two clownfish and a goby I have in my current saltwater that I plan to put in it assuming they don’t die before then. I still need to research if all of those can go together.

I was also wanting to put in some coral of varying difficulty but honestly most of the ones I really want are hard to keep. I wanted Kenya tree coral, Red Carnation Coral, Red Finger Gorgonians, and Blueberry Gorgonians. I have other fish/coral I like but those are so far the main ones I really want to have if they can go together.

Are there any similar but less difficult corals I could get and what is the least difficult and smallest ray to keep? Do you have any suggestions on livestock/coral that will be fine with what I am wanting or advise for me?

BeltedCoyote