Solar energy just for your reef tank: Have you thought about it?

Would you use solar energy for your tank if it were feasible?

• Yes

Votes: 470 92.0%
  • No

Votes: 41 8.0%

• Total voters

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Have any of you considered going solar for just your reef tank? Is this something that is even feasible? I must admit I have zero knowledge about this topic so educate me!

Also how much energy is your tank consuming monthly?

grape-solar-off-grid-solar-systems-gs-200-kit-64_1000.jpg

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I did look into it about 3 - 4 years ago. NJ has/had very good rebates deals, so made the payback that much quicker. The negative for me is that they wanted me to take down the one and only tree that shades my house. I also had roofs that faced east/west...still would work, but ideal is a south facing roof. So decided not to do it.

Here's the bottom line....and again NJ has/had some very nice rebates...check your States rebates. Here's the important part, outright buy your panels. Yes, you'll have to spend 10's of thousands of dollars, but all the rebates and benefits will go to you. What is very popular now in NJ are these companies that will give you panels at no out of pocket for you. You will initially get a small reduction in your electric bill, but are not entitled to the rebates (they go to the company that installed.) Eventually you will most likely end up paying more for electric as the years go by.

Highly recommend doing the math for your State to see if it will pay in the long run.

EmdeReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0