Solenoid valve with Atk?

Discussion in 'Neptune Systems' started by leepink23, Oct 11, 2017.

  1. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Can I use the apex solenoid valve with my Atk to stop the siphon that happens when I fill up the reservoir? It's not practical with my setup to use the push fitting that comes with it to stop the siphon.

    Screenshot_2017-10-11-18-17-17.png
     
    Tags:

  2. lennyd19

    lennyd19 Well-Known Member Catskill Reef Member Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Hudson Valley
    Does your ATK fill your sump or reservoir? Where are you getting a syphon from/to?
     
  3. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    No it doesn't fill it, just has a constant drip until the water level of the ato container is lower than the atk.
     
  4. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Syphon is from ato container to the sump.
     
  5. kinetic

    kinetic Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Albany, CA
    Can you describe why you can't use the siphon break? It's literally just a small hole. If it's out of the water, it will break the siphon when your PMUP stops. The push fitting is just a bit wider than the actual 1/4" tubing, so it seems difficult to be in a situation where this won't work. You can also just drill a very small hole in the 1/4" tube right above your reservoir's water level.

    The Solenoid will need an additional FMM module if I'm not mistaken. It needs the same accessory plug as the PMUP.
     
  6. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I have a 10 gallon aquarium for my ato, filling it up to the top gets me a full week but creates a siphon, when using the siphon break, because I have to put at the top of the 10 gallon it causes water to spill out when running. I have an eb832 for the solenoid. If I just fill the 10 gallon up 80% it is fine.
     
    lennyd19 likes this.
  7. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I will try drilling a small hole to see if that works.
     
    lennyd19 likes this.
  8. siggy

    siggy Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    I have had the same problem, the check already has a small hole drilled, that is the check, mine got clogged due to running kalk or a plastic burr. I cleaned it has never done it again. must say The ATK is troublesome, always needing adjustments and the float switch is of poor quality and difficult to adjust
     
  9. kinetic

    kinetic Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Albany, CA
    I’ve had 5 different topoffs, the ATK is by far the easiest I’ve used. Not sure why yours needs constant adjustments? My float switch never needed to be adjusted.
     
  10. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My low sensor has failed twice in a few months and allowed water to run dry. Both times the sensor needed cleaning. I had less hassle with float switches and toms aqualifter to be honest.
     
  11. siggy

    siggy Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    That's just it, the float is there to stop the siphon but it leaked water and caused the drain of the reservoir, High level fault is the most common on mine. wounder why ? solenoid valve would be the ticket.
    hey a simple relay powered by ATK output command to turn on pump & solenoid would work. it would require an additional power supply
     
    leepink23 likes this.
  12. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks, luckily I have am eb832 that I could plug it into. My plan was program the solenoid to be open if atk on.
     
    siggy likes this.
  13. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Or program if swx_1 open then open.
     
  14. siggy

    siggy Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    I have an apex waiting for me to catch up on everything before diving into that pool, please let me know what you figure out.
     
  15. kinetic

    kinetic Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Albany, CA
    The swx_1 open doesn't always get the PMUP to turn on, since the PMUP has it's own set of rules (like how often, max time, etc). So if you can get it to be triggered the same way, I think that would work well.

    I just think it's overkill and really not needed. Solenoids can also fail, and I've heard need it's own set of maintenance.

    A simple siphon break is all you need. A tiny hole or anything right above the waterline in your reservoir will immediately fix the issue. Drill a 1/8" hole into the line pointing back down into the water. I only had a 1/4" drill because my siphon break connector's hole came without being drilled all the way through, and I made a hole twice the designed size. Still works fine, just a lot of water shoots out. My ATO reservoir is covered well enough, so no water gets out.
     
    leepink23 likes this.
  16. leepink23

    leepink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Mississippi
    True, I would probably just use the atk command, I really don't think the hole is going to work because of my setup and spillage, i would probably just not fill it completely before going that route. I am hoping someone has used it with that setup. I definitely don't want to add more problems.
     
  17. kinetic

    kinetic Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Albany, CA
    I guess I can't picture what the problem is. Can you take a photo?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...