Something is wrong with my sump‍♀️

Discussion in 'Tank Emergency' started by SSGTLA, Jun 9, 2019 at 10:54 PM.

1. SSGTLA

SSGTLA Member

HELP! Ok, I’m new to saltwater tanks...ok let me back up, I have had a 30ga FOWLR tank for over a year with a HOB filter. In Feb my DH bought me a 120ga complete setup, cabinet & everything. The aquarium shop came and set it all up for me. I currently have 12 small fish & 1 small green Haddon carpet anemone. I put new filter socks in my sump 2 days ago, and on the left side where the both returns bring the water into the sump thru the socks for filtration, it looks like it could almost overflow. The water is sitting on the top of the sock, not going down thru the sock. So weird! HELP! I turned down the flow to decrease the amount of water being returned, but it didn’t help. DH isn’t home, but then again he knows NOTHING about my hobby, bless him....but I cannot to to bed without fear of waking up to a catastrophe!

2. tehmadreefer

tehmadreefer Well-Known Member

Take the sock out before bed. Perhaps the socks are too thick or clogged?

SSGTLA and Style185 like this.
  3. Style185

Style185 Member

Too be honest I prefer a mesh bag (like a delicate laundry bag) filled with polly fill. Clean it every other day. Socks clog n exactly what you said over flow n there for are not working.

SSGTLA likes this.
  4. BadFish619

BadFish619 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

Socks are just clogged from detritus. You'll have to clean them out and put them back on. You have a lot of waste with 12 fish they get dirty fast

SSGTLA likes this.
  5. SSGTLA

SSGTLA Member