Sophie's Reef: Red Sea Reefer XXL 625 Slow Start Build (Aus)

mmorriso

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello from sunny Melbourne, Australia!

I've been keeping reefs for about 3 years and planted tanks for many years before that. I've recently moved house and inadvertently (More on that soon) upgraded my tank from a Reefer XL 525 to a Reefer XXL 625. I never really documented my first build so I'd like to take this opportunity to do so. First off, here's my Reefer XL 525 just before I shut it down:

IMG_8014.JPEG

Unfortunately, given the timing and manner of my move, I needed to sell all livestock in the tank as I needed to have the tank dry for almost 3 months.

While selling off parts of the tank, a more experienced reefer pointed out damage to some of the silicone. To my eyes, this looked "organic" rather than a typical seam split, so I wasn't very hopeful of a good outcome when I contacted Red Sea support. To my surprise, Red Sea offered an immediate tank replacement, however as there were no white Reefer XL 525's available, they offered a free upgrade to a Reefer XXL 625! I happily accepted.

My elation was short-lived however. I took delivery of the Reefer XXL 625 and it was immaculate. I got the stand and sump unboxed and engaged some movers to get the tank onto the stand. Unfortunately, the movers dropped the tank on my stairs and the tank was damaged beyond repair! I contacted the distributor and explained the situation. They offered a tank only replacement at a very reasonable price, however the catch is that I won't get it until April.