Starting to QT on a tank that already has fish?

Afarouki

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So basically I’m new to the hobby, and have a 65 gal with 2 clowns and and Royal Gramma currently inside. No corals, but a few snails and hermit crabs.

I introduced the clowns (25 days ago) and Gramma (4 days ago) without QT.

Im assuming, since I didn’t QT, even though they all look healthy, its possible they carry some pests or diseases that just haven’t become a problem.

QT-ing new fish might be useless because current fish in my DT likely have illnesses, right?

Should I remove the fish in the DT, treat them, and have the DT go fallow?

Or should I carry on, and just start QT-ing incoming fish

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know, but if they are indoors in California they need to be waring a mask now.

The purpose of preventitive medicine is to prevent diseases. If your fish are not showing signs of disease the best "mask" you can provide them is good nutrition, ime. Live foods, fresh chopped clams, along with frozen and dry foods with a resonable variety of food items is sometimes said to be the best method of keeping healthy people and their pets healthy. Fewer "happy meals" and more nutritious food has a good chance of keeping them happy.

Upvote 0

LAReefer4Life

Lover of Angelfish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To answer your question, yes its VERY possible for the fish to have parasites since they weren't QT. You can closely monitor for the next 8 weeks for strange behavior. i.e. scratching, excessive yawning, heavy breathing, flashing, lack of appetite, lethargy, etc. Keep a close eye for salt like grains or light dusting on the body, as well as coloring of the fish. A stressed fish color will fade and this is not a good sign.