Still new to this but how ugly can ugly get lol

KevPool

Blue-Collar Reefing
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Heya folks

So I'm still quite new to Reefing and was wondering how ugly can ugly get during the ugly stages of setting up a new tank? Also how long does it usually last my nano tank is looking a bit better now but it's just over 2 months old now. My main system has been up and fully running for 24 days now and I just introduced lighting to it this past weekend. Well lights on sure kicked my ugly stage into action and my rocks and sand are starting to look like poop lol. Any advice on how to stay on top of this would be great thanks.
PXL_20210120_224035443.jpg

DE FISH

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All I can see is diatoms caused by silicates which is normal on a new cycling tank and they will burn themselves out. just keep on monitoring your parameters everything is on track by the looks of it.

BlennyTime

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah, just a natural part of starting a tank. They should disappear over time. If they don’t, check your RODI filter for your top-off water and make sure you keep up on your water changes with that.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
It can be all covered in brown and even attain red which is cyano.
With reduced white lights and increased water flow, possibility of both is reduced drastically.

This is worse case:

1611184757169.png

Typical:

1611184811917.png

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

to see how bad it can get

and if you read the sublink, you will see it getting fixed.

when we power cycled your reef, that stuck the bacteria on permanently no matter how much you insult them by cleaning. so, we take advantage of that and make insulting cleaning runs.

OP
OP
KevPool

KevPool

Blue-Collar Reefing
View Badges