Stocking a 55 gallon FOWLER

dyjogibson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I am starting on saltwater after about a year of freshwater. I am looking to make a 55 gallon fowler tank. My biggest goal is to have as many different fish and colors as I can safely fit into the tank. Currently the only fish that I have decided on are a pair of ocellaris clowns and a atlantic pygmy or coral beauty angelfish. I am wondering what else you guys would add to the list?
I would rather aim away from the schooling fish and more towards individuals because freshwater fills the schooling part for me and I want more of a variety in this tank.
Please suggest fish that are better for beginners as I am new to saltwater and this is going to be my first tank.

OP
OP
D

dyjogibson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Royal Gramma would be nice color for that size tank.

Some type of small wrasse for movement.
Would I be able to add more fish with those? After looking at those they do seem pretty cool, just wondering if I could add more fish.

fish farmer

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would I be able to add more fish with those? After looking at those they do seem pretty cool, just wondering if I could add more fish.
I tend to tell people to stock light...I have three fish in a 29 gallon. So 6 to 8 small fish. I'm sure some folks will suggest a larger stocking list.

There a lots of bottom dwellers like gobies and blennies that would be a good addition.

MaxTremors

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A canthigaster genus puffer, cardinals, a wrasse of some sort (there are many different species that would work), a blenny (bicolor, tailspot, midas), a couple gobies, a hawkfish, firefish, a royal gramma/basslet/dottyback, there are tons of different fish that would work in a tank that size (not all of these fish would work together, just listing fish that would work in this size tank).

blaxsun