Storm Season among us. Power outage readiness!!!

MrWellington

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a simple 2000w inverter with two 100AH Lithium batteries that feed critical life-support for two 120+ tanks. While I'm new to my neighborhood, the neighbors can't recall an extended outage (more than a few hours) in this area. Plus I can always ween off load as needed. (I.e. one heater, one powerhead, one return pump per tank).

vanguard

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I probably need a better plan. I have this thing:
1699363591869.png

I keeps the basics going like wav makers and the return pump. My neptune lowers their speed to make it last longer.

I also have a gas powered generator that we hook up for the fish tanks, refrigerator, home internet, etc. Finally, the fish room has propane fireplaces in case 4 watt per gallon isn't enough heater in a home without power.

As I think about it, I'm not doing too bad. I really could use a bigger battery but aside from that I'm good for days.

Magnapinna

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have two portable generators totaling 4000W. My tank is 10gal currently only running an Aquaclear 50, 50W Eheim heater, and a nano Orbit Marine light, as well as an airline fitted with a T-valve for some extra coverage for less power. The tank is only a couple months old and fortunately I haven't experienced an outage yet (knock on wood), but tornado season is only a few weeks away. The room temperature stays around 80*F in the summer -- which lasts ~10 months of the year in Atlanta -- so fortunately my heaters rarely need to kick on.

Outages here also tend to be brief compared to those associated with hurricanes. I used to live in south FL where I lived through Hurricane Wilma. We were without power for 14 days and most people's generators also failed. Some went without power for as long as 4 weeks. Can't even imagine trying to sustain a tank through that!