Sump filter. mesh or felt?

Paul C.

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello R2R'rs. Im a 5 month newbie in this hobby. Have a 75 gal rimless, with a collection of fish and Lps corals. Set up a 30 gal as my frag tank because i can't decide on a fish tank or a coral tank...So, now i got both. My question to all of u, is as far as your sump...What kind of bag filter are u using Felt or Mesh? Im currently using felt, but have bought 2 pairs of mesh to try. I like the idea that u can clean the mesh vs the felt. Also, what would i use to clean and how? i have read dishwasher, and the washer. Thanks for your input. Paul

OP
OP
Paul C.

Paul C.

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I never cleaned them. I just replaced.. So, thats why I'm trying the mesh. Look good so far. Haven't noticed any difference in the water clarity. Thanks for the responses.

KSzegi

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't run any on a continual basis. I use the felt ones when I do a water change that includes blowing off the rock etc .... I just clean them well in the sink with plain water or run them through the washer without soap.

OP
OP
Paul C.

Paul C.

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
KSzegi..Dont run them on a continual basis?? Please tell me why. Dont they serve a purpose of removing particles from the water like fish waste, food, etc? With out them isnt everything just getting returned into the DT??

btkrausen

Fish Hoarder
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I run felt 24/7, and they get changed out every few days, sometimes up to a week, depending on when they clog up.

I have about 10 of them, so after I put on the 10th, I wash the other 9 with hot water and a tad of bleach.

AZDesertRat

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0