Sump with no baffles

page

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have looked literally everywhere and see none. I wondered to myself would a sump work without baffles. I know baffles are important so it can get through every single filtration but what if I have LR and skimmer on my sump and some mechanical filtration and probably add some bio balls along the way. Would that hypothetically work? Or would it just be not sufficient enough? I am new to sump and basically saltwater and just pondered upon this idea. I would love to hear all of y'all's opinion on this.

Suohhen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also BRS and other reefing sites sell pre-made baffle kits for various standard glass aquarium sizes. They aren't cheap but you could use them as inspiration to make your own.

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Baffles serve different purposes. Sectioning areas for chaeto, fuge, return while creating a bubble trap before the return

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can make your own with some cheap plexi and some silicone available at most hardware stores.

JumboShrimp

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
223DD293-03D3-4EC5-A4AD-63C6335A1FF1.jpeg

The Seamless Sump system gives you a dozen or more single components to mix and match— including many tubs with no baffles. Get a recirculating skimmer, and water level will never be a concern.

mdb_talon

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would definitely use baffles even if for nothing else than the skimmer chamber. It eliminates micro bubbles and keeps the water level constant. While a recirculating skimmer can address the water level issue it does not address the bubble issue. It also locks you into needing a more expensive skimmer design.