Swedish fish - behind the scenes rebuilding a public aquarium

World Wide Corals - Quality Aqua-cultured Coral
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
Pump testing day. Unfortunately someone(that was me.. :rolleyes:) ordered AC pumps instead of controllable DC pumps, so at the moment all stream pumps are just on/off. The controllable ones are on their way.
These AC pumps will keep the bottom clean from food hopefully. They blow water along the bottom under the egg crates.
BF397775-B8B2-4D3C-BA3D-E547FA42D169.jpeg
C55BF8CA-7CD4-4442-B30A-954DBBFEBAD8.jpeg
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,112
Reaction score
53,316
Location
Decatur, AL
Pump testing day. Unfortunately someone(that was me.. :rolleyes:) ordered AC pumps instead of controllable DC pumps, so at the moment all stream pumps are just on/off. The controllable ones are on their way.
These AC pumps will keep the bottom clean from food hopefully. They blow water along the bottom under the egg crates.
BF397775-B8B2-4D3C-BA3D-E547FA42D169.jpeg
C55BF8CA-7CD4-4442-B30A-954DBBFEBAD8.jpeg
Could be worse. You could have ordered pneumatic pumps!
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,112
Reaction score
53,316
Location
Decatur, AL
Question for the smart ones that hang out here about my CaRx. I know the rate that media dissolves is a function of pH. Does pressure play a role by chance? Could the media dissolve more slowly under 10psi than under 2psi?
 
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
Question for the smart ones that hang out here about my CaRx. I know the rate that media dissolves is a function of pH. Does pressure play a role by chance? Could the media dissolve more slowly under 10psi than under 2psi?
I'm sure the partial pressure changes the solubility. But is it possible to raise the pressure in your CaRx? I've only worked with reactors with "open" line out, like an overflow back to the tank. More water or gas in, more water or gas out.
 
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
I'm sure the partial pressure changes the solubility. But is it possible to raise the pressure in your CaRx? I've only worked with reactors with "open" line out, like an overflow back to the tank. More water or gas in, more water or gas out.
Unless the outgoing tube is too small. I've tried that once, with a strong membran pump pumping in water. That CaRx started to leak. So I don't recommend putting a valve on the outgoing line :)
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,112
Reaction score
53,316
Location
Decatur, AL
Unless the outgoing tube is too small. I've tried that once, with a strong membran pump pumping in water. That CaRx started to leak. So I don't recommend putting a valve on the outgoing line :)
The reactor is set up to pump in, and use a "drip emitter" (fancy term for orifice) to restrict flow out. When I lowered pH in my CaRx it raised the pressure but out my output dKH and flow rates didn't change. I'm thinking it's likely the media just had easily dissolved fines that I didn't get rinsed out.
I have a new pump coming tomorrow which I will use to pull water through the reactor, so hopefully that works better. And, it will allow double the flow rate.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
Here’s the coral spawning experiment setup today. Three test corals moved in yesterday. Some Chaetomorpha too.
A bit high phosphate, for my taste, at the moment(0,21 ppm). So changing water with one coral system with low PO4 today.

DDBA9194-34C4-40E8-8055-E1DC586C3A14.jpeg
F360F5AF-70F5-488D-841D-60F4AE335AEC.jpeg
 
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
Very nice, how will you deal with light spill if this is going to be run Australia time or that not the plan?
The upper tank will be covered on all sides to aviod any light from the other tanks and the sun to get into the upper tank in the experiment. Not sure on exactly how yet. Perhaps we'll end up filling all gaps with duct tape, but I hope we can find a better looking solution :) One of the more important thing is the totally dark periods before and after moon light(researchers think so far), so we need to get it "light tight".

And we need to figure out what time it'll be on, so "spawning time" will be during the hours we are at the temporary Aquarium. The location we will try to resemble will probably be something like Lizard Island in Australia, since there are a great supply of data from there. But the tank won't go on Australian time, that will be adjusted so it fits our working hours.
 

crusso1993

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
30,218
Location
Chicago, IL, USA
Here’s the coral spawning experiment setup today. Three test corals moved in yesterday. Some Chaetomorpha too.
A bit high phosphate, for my taste, at the moment(0,21 ppm). So changing water with one coral system with low PO4 today.

DDBA9194-34C4-40E8-8055-E1DC586C3A14.jpeg
F360F5AF-70F5-488D-841D-60F4AE335AEC.jpeg
Out of curiosity, what lights are you running on the Chaetomorpha?
 
OP
Sallstrom

Sallstrom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,304
Reaction score
9,225
Location
Gothenburg
Out of curiosity, what lights are you running on the Chaetomorpha?
That's LED bars from GHL, fresh water version, Mitras slimline. The moon light is also from GHL, Mitras simu-stick I think it's called.
 

Lasse

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
5,256
Reaction score
16,607
Location
Källarliden 14 D Bohus, Sweden
No - the lunar light is Mitras Slimline RGB. The picture from the homepage show three separate colours for the RGB - but it is RGB LEDs in one fixture nowadays. o these you need an active splitter too - if you want to control them. We are going to use them for the lunar light (we can vary the K of it) - therefore we run it through the computer.

The refuge light is - as David - said Mitras Lightbar 2 - fresh water version. We run the on/off

I think you can order them in the US too - @[email protected] - correct me if I´m wrong

Sincerely Lasse
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Are you a Builder, Maintainer or Both?

  • I woud rather build out a new system

    Votes: 128 24.4%
  • I would rather maintain a system than build it out

    Votes: 59 11.2%
  • I's passionate about both

    Votes: 338 64.4%

Online statistics

Members online
2,213
Guests online
10,027
Total visitors
12,240
PremiumAquatics.com
Zoanthids.com
Top