Switch/Upgrade my tank

rosey80

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm new in owning a saltwater reef tank. I currently have a 36 gallon bowfront acrylic tank and I would like to
either switch or upgrade. Personally speaking, the bowfront just isn't working out for me, I'm not a fan of the top
part of the tank and cleaning it is a pain as well! I started my tank back in early April and it's currently going through the
ugly stage. I have the green algae that flakes off and the redish brown kind of hairy algae, which I believe is cyanobacteria?
Therefore, I'm not sure if I should switch it or do a slight upgrade since I'm still learning this hobby. Plus, I don't think
that I would want to upgrade higher than 50 gallons at the most right now.
Therefore, I'm seeking advice on if it would be wise to switch or upgrade my tank and if so, which tank would you recommend for a beginner?
I do prefer an acrylic tank being that it's lighter in weight, but would strongly value your opinion.
Also, if I switch/upgrade, what's the best way of tackling that job?

By the way, in my tank, I currently have the following:

2 clownfish
1 orange spotted goby
1 royal gramma fish
4 hermit crabs
2 bee snails
1 nassarius snail

(No corals yet since I was told to wait another 6 months before adding any.)

(Everything has been thriving so far!)

Thank you so much! :)

i cant think

Wrasse Addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm new in owning a saltwater reef tank. I currently have a 36 gallon bowfront acrylic tank and I would like to
either switch or upgrade. Personally speaking, the bowfront just isn't working out for me, I'm not a fan of the top
part of the tank and cleaning it is a pain as well! I started my tank back in early April and it's currently going through the
ugly stage. I have the green algae that flakes off and the redish brown kind of hairy algae, which I believe is cyanobacteria?