T5 lighting help

Sammyn888

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I am somewhat new to the hobby about 6 months in. I have a question hopefully someone can help me with. I have a 56 gallon reef aquarium demensions are 30" W x 18" D x 24" H. On this tank is a light fixture that holds 4 24w T5 bulbs. I currently have 2 seaworld 24w 12k t5 and 2 24w actinics. I wanted to upgrade and get a bigger spectrum range to help the growth and look of my coral. I have been looking at different types of bulbs from ATI. Listed below is the 4 that i am looking at. My question is what combination of these bulbs below would be best for my tank? I have just a few corals at the moment zoas, duncans, green BTA (not a coral i know :bigsmile: ) some blue mushrooms and a kenya tree. Any advise would be well accepted!

Aquablue Special:
Combines the properties of a full-spectrum bulb with an elevated blue color peak producing a bulb with an approximate color temperature of 15000K.

Blue Plus: Combines the properties of a blue bulb (approximately 460nm) with an actinic bulb (approximately 420nm) producing an intense blue light with high PAR numbers and a light spectrum that encourages both bluing in SPS corals and fluorescence in capable corals.

Coral Plus:Combines the properties of a Blue Plus (~50%) + Aquablue Special (~40%) + Purple Plus (~10%) producing a bulb with an approximate color temperature of 15000K+. Appears cool, crisp white to the eye.

Purple Plus: Combines the properties of a full spectrum bulb with strong red and blue components producing a bulb with excellent color-rendition that works very well for bringing out the pinks, purples and reds in an aquarium.

True Actinic: Produces a violet-blue light that is designed to maximize fluorescence in capable corals and make livestock colors pop.

Loki

My skimmate doesn't stink
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 4 blue plus.