Taking photos under actinic lighting

GeoHawk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am pretty new to photography, especially of my aquarium. I have a canon powershot (point and shoot camera) I find that all my pictures under actinic lighting are way too blue, and fluorescence are gone. How to I fix this?

I did a search for actinic pictures and didn't find anything sorry if I am being redundant.

BeakerBob

Moderator / Lab Rat
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check the users manual to see if the camera has a custom white balance option. If so, follow the directions and it should take the blue cast out of the pictures.

gparr

Waterbox Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you don't want the blue, BeakerBob is right. You'll have to set a custom white balance. But, if you don't want the blue, you'll get better results setting a custom white balance with all of the tank lights on. If you want that actinic look, you just shoot the picture with the camera's normal settings. It wouldn't surprise me if the camera's light meter gets fooled by the unusual light, so you might have to adjust the exposure. Just guessing because I'm not there, but try a stop over exposed.
Gary

mfinn

likes zoanthids
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
I just used my nikon p&s cameras white balance setting and it did take all of the blue out, so much that the dominate color is red.

gparr

Waterbox Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Usually, to do a custom white balance you have to take a picture of a white object under the tank lighting. This usually involves putting a piece of white, waterproof material in your tank, holding it at the same angle as the face of the rock/coral you want to photograph, filling the frame with the white object and taking a picture. You'll have to read the manual to figure out how to set the white balance. Sorry, there's no way around actually opening up that manual.
Gary