1. Balanje

Balanje Member

Hey guys,
    I've been a long time lurker but I finally have a question that I don't think has been asked so I'm taking the plunge to throw my hat into the reef2reef community. So first off, thanks for all the info you've already unknowingly given me!! :)

I'm not a total newbe... I've kept a 30 gal reef tank for about 18 months. I've recently decided to upgrade to a 90 gal tank and I've been cycling for just over three weeks now. I have recently started the Red Sea mature reef starter kit and i'm through the initial ammonia spike. I have about 50 lbs of dry rock curing in the tank. I would like to start to add my live rock from my old 30 gal (I have about 30lbs of rock in there) in order to help seed the new tank with the denitrifying bacteria. The old tank is still running but I will break down once transfer is completed.

Here's my question (sorry for being long winded): With probably another 2 weeks remaining on my cycle, how much rock can I pillage from my 30gal without harming the fish still living in there? I have 2 clowns, 1 bangai Cardinal, 1 starry Blenny, 1 file fish and 1 neon Goby. I also have minimal coral; red mushrooms and green star polyp, which i wouldn't move until cycle is complete. Could these live in a tank with say only 5-10lbs of rock for a few weeks without issue?

Thanks for the help!

Tags:

2. Tahoe61

Tahoe61 Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Showcase Editor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member Partner Member 2018

Sure, just check ammonia, do not over feed the 30 gallon and do routine water changes.

Brew12 likes this.
  3. Brew12

Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

How much algae do you have in your system?

If you had a healthy macro/microfauna population that would directly consume the ammonia I would feel better about running that little.