Tank whistling

DrEggroll

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New tank getting established and I’m a noob. It’s a 120 with two overflow durso set up. I have a sicce silent 5.0 return. My tank will make a whistle sound every 5 minutes. I have a hole drilled in the top of my durso on both sides. I maybe noticed that when I turn the flow down it might happen less. Ideally I would like the return pump to near the 1300gph range and not the lower 600gph range. I watched BRS 52 week reefing and I saw a small hose with adjustment valve through the small hole on the durso, would that help?

Brett S

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you’re sure that the whistling sound is coming from the hole in the durso (and I think it’s likely that it could be) then really doing anything to slightly change the size of that hole would probably fix it. Either drilling it out a bit so it’s slightly larger, or putting a small hose in it to make it slightly smaller. I don’t think you would even need a valve. Just changing the diameter of the hole slightly should be enough.

OP
OP
D

DrEggroll

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I turned my pump down in the meantime and it has stopped the whistle. I’ll titrate it up and then monkey changing the size

OP
OP
D

DrEggroll

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You’ll do what?
Turn the flow on my return pump higher until it whistles again, and then back down to no whistle. I’m trying this before messing with changing the diameter of the hole in the durso

lavoisier

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0