Test kits

Bobothegreat

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so I attempted to use the search function but was getting an error. What type of test kits do you recommend? Of course that not out there on price. I will have t order off amazon or eBay most likely since I am in japan for the next 3 years.

hdsoftail1065

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an expert but done a quick search for you. It looks like Hanna for PO4 and Alk is pretty popular. Hanna is on my list to get after seeing it in action. Red Sea and Salifert are pretty popular. I use the Red Sea.

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so I attempted to use the search function but was getting an error. What type of test kits do you recommend? Of course that not out there on price. I will have t order off amazon or eBay most likely since I am in japan for the next 3 years.
For ammonia and nitrite I like API just because it is easy and low cost. Their Nitrate kit isn't too bad, either, unless your nitrates are very low.

For phosphates I prefer the Hanna ULR phosphorus tester.

For Alk, Calc and Mag I don't see a big difference between the salifert and Redsea. I probably prefer the Salifert but don't have strong feelings one way or the other.

If you QT in copper, the Hanna high range copper tester is the only way to go.

hdsoftail1065

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For ammonia and nitrite I like API just because it is easy and low cost. Their Nitrate kit isn't too bad, either, unless your nitrates are very low.

For phosphates I prefer the Hanna ULR phosphorus tester.

For Alk, Calc and Mag I don't see a big difference between the salifert and Redsea. I probably prefer the Salifert but don't have strong feelings one way or the other.

If you QT in copper, the Hanna high range copper tester is the only way to go.