Testing, How and When is actualy important (How to reduce the margin of error)

Hybrid Ken

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How can we make sure we are getting accurate results when testing? Knowing what can cause erroneous results helps as does developing good testing habits.
A bit about me, I am a plant operator and the QA person in a global chemical additive company. We have a pretty strict policy on how to take a sample and how we maintain the testing equipment. When I sat back and thought what if I applied this to my tank testing would it make any difference. Well to my joy I started seeing more consistent results in my test results, they were no longer all over the place. So here is my method of sampling and testing.

First, make sure your kits/reagents are not expired.
Knowing how to read an expiration date can save lots of headaches. Some kits are strait forward and show month and year of expiration others not so much. API shows a two digit month and a four digit year such as 06/2020 meaning the kit expires on June in 2020. A redsea kit may have an expiration number like 0620 for the same month and year.

20190106_160752.jpg

Second, our equipment.
Having clean equipment in good working order (lab grade is always best) is essential for getting consistent testing.

thermometor and timer.jpg

Rinsing and drying syringes, vials and pipettes has a great impact on test results. Using distilled or RO water to rinse before and after testing and lint free or micro fiber cloth for drying helps keep cuvettes and vials in tip top condition. Occasionally you may need to clean your glass items in a citric or vinegar bath to remove residue.

distilled water.jpg

microfiber cloth.jpg