Testing Parameters, Kit Recommendations & ZERO Nitrates?

yourmom

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am still pretty new to saltwater and very new to reefing. I started a 40 gal about 3 months ago and have been keeping an eye on parameters. I'm using API reef kit to test weekly for: Alkalinity, Calcium, Nitrates and Phosphate, plus pH. I use a Salifert to double check Nitrate and used Salifert to check Ammonia in the beginning. Just brought home a Salifert Magnesium kit (LFS recommendation).

I am only testing my 40 gal Nuvo AIO currently. [I have a 10 gal and 20 gl that I do weekly water changes of 10-30% and haven't been too concerned about their levels since everything seems to be thriving and they are FOWLR.] On the 40, my Nitrates hit zero this week. I had been doing weekly 5 gal water changes since week 5 or 6 and LFS told me to slow down. Current load in tank is minimal - one clown and one bicolor blenny, tiger sand conch, cleaner shrimp, 6 snails. I've added 4 frags of various corals in the past week or two. I'd like to add a couple more fish but I'm waiting for the right additions and local availability.

My questions are two fold: More urgently, regarding my zero nitrates, I don't want to make major changes and swing too far in the wrong direction. Is reducing the water changes sufficient to achieve desired results? How often should I be changing the water and how much water should I change?

Moving forward: What testing kits do you recommend? Is there anything digital and automated? We're putting together a Raspberry/Reef Pi system for monitoring. Are Hanna kits the only digital manual kit? Considering cost of testing kits and tank sensitivity to changes, how should I prioritize my budget? Lastly, what parameters should I be aiming for with this tank?