The prospect of moving my tank 800km makes me panic quite a bit

randalli

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have some experience with moving tanks (fresh and saltwater) of various sizes. But only over short distances like half and hour drive or something. This time it's different. We are going to move from Munich to Hamburg "soon". Some things need to be clarified still but it's pretty certain and I am kind of already planning and gathering. I generally have a grasp of how I want to do it. But the details are just way to uncertain and that makes my inner panic monkey a bit overactive.

Tank is 300L with 60L sump. Mostly SPS (Acro & Monti) growing pretty well.

What is/what I already have:
- I am having 10 styro boxes handy for keeping fish and coral warm during transport and enough plastic bags anyway. But we would likely try to move in spring/early summer when temps are so no extra heating is needed.
- Enough buckets 20L & 30L with lids.
- I will take at least 70% of water with me in 60L barrels with two handles for transporting.
- Sand will be thrown away and replaced with fresh life sand
- On arrival I am planning on putting the coral and fish in a small tank I use as frag tank.
- rock (some with softies) will be transported in the barrels with the water.

Now it gets interesting ... what makes me panic a bit:
- I have to disassemble, package up, transport everything at the same day I think
- the last time I disassembled a reef tank It took me like 4 hours to package up everything
- now there's the drive (8-10 hours) added
- and the reassembly which (the last time) took me like 10-12hours

My thoughts and some open questions up to here:
- flow in the barrels induced by the cars movement should be enough to keep the bacteria in the rock alive? If not, then how to create enough flow?