The Seawitch Lose Your Mind First Saltwater Tank Where I Make All The Mistakes So You Don't Have To.

Discussion in 'Member Tanks' started by Seawitch, Nov 7, 2018.

1. Seawitch

Seawitch Water, water everywhere, Staff Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Article Administrator

Well, folks, I've been cutting bait for 10 years after a long history in FW. But if I'm going to hang around in R2R, then I guess I better go fishing and start at least one tank. I have plans for a much bigger system, but I thought something relatively small in an upstairs bedroom that I use as an office might be nice. Our house is split-level, and the basement and first ground level is on a slab.

But it just so happens that I have a still-in-the-box brand new little 30G (I think) in the basement. At least I think it's 30G. I won't know for sure until I start spelunking later today. So, I'm going to dust it off, take it upstairs, and start doing something. Of course, doing research is different from actually *doing* it.

I've got a phone call in to the former home owners (who built the house) to find out which way the floor joists run upstairs. As soon as I know that, I'll pick the location. In the meantime, I guess a RO/DI unit is the first order of business. That will go in the basement because that's where I anticipate the big system will be eventually.

So hold on to your hats everyone, Seawitch is heading out to sea.
    IMG_3040.JPG

Tags:

2. mta_morrow

mta_morrow It costs HOW much?!!! R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad SCAA Member Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

Don’t forget your life jacket!

3. Dsnakes

Dsnakes Knight Reefer R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

Awesome! I’ll be following along :) a 30g tank won’t make much impact on weight of your floor.

4. Katrina71