The Seawitch Lose Your Mind First Saltwater Tank Where I Make All The Mistakes So You Don't Have To.

Seawitch

Water, water everywhere,
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, folks, I've been cutting bait for 10 years after a long history in FW. But if I'm going to hang around in R2R, then I guess I better go fishing and start at least one tank. I have plans for a much bigger system, but I thought something relatively small in an upstairs bedroom that I use as an office might be nice. Our house is split-level, and the basement and first ground level is on a slab.

But it just so happens that I have a still-in-the-box brand new little 30G (I think) in the basement. At least I think it's 30G. I won't know for sure until I start spelunking later today. So, I'm going to dust it off, take it upstairs, and start doing something. Of course, doing research is different from actually *doing* it.

I've got a phone call in to the former home owners (who built the house) to find out which way the floor joists run upstairs. As soon as I know that, I'll pick the location. In the meantime, I guess a RO/DI unit is the first order of business. That will go in the basement because that's where I anticipate the big system will be eventually.

So hold on to your hats everyone, Seawitch is heading out to sea.
IMG_3040.JPG

mta_morrow

Of course I have room for 1 more fish!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Awesome! I’ll be following along :) a 30g tank won’t make much impact on weight of your floor.
Agreed, I had a 30 and would not be concerned about placing it anywhere.

OP
OP
Seawitch

Seawitch

Water, water everywhere,
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Update: 19:56 local time. So, I lugged that box upstairs and one other that I found--again unopened. I wasn't even sure what was in it, or what I was thinking when I bought it or if the stuff is any good.