therman's 12 year old SPS system...top down shot, starting to enjoy this tank again

therman

View Badges
Reaction score
I am not good at sharing images of my tanks. I'm terrible at keeping glass clean. I really enjoy seeing corals grow out into healthy colonies from small frags.

On that note, this 36x36x18 tank was set up first in 2010, moved to a new house in 2012, and nearly crashed (due entirely to my neglect) in 2013. After the near crash it was consolidated into one system with an older SPS setup, and the whole thing has evolved into a sprawling ~730 gallons across 7 aquariums and a stock tank.

I tragically lost a stunning ~18" blue squamosa that I cherished at the start of this year, but that has freed up almost 1/4 of the tank to adjust the aquascape. I'm still not quite sure how exactly I want it laid out towards the back left, but I'm really liking the interplay of color and form of the Skinny Love/24k Leptoseris/Hawaiian Pocillopora combo through the middle. This shot is taken from the right side looking across towards the left side, so the front panel of the tank is the one in the left of the frame.

Enjoy :)

World Wide Corals - Quality Aqua-cultured Coral

bubbaque

Follow me on Instagram @ Bubbaquecorals
View Badges
Reaction score
Stunning to say the least. After seeing your for sale thread I went through your post hoping to find a thread on your but was sad to see there wasn't one. I am glad to finally see it happen!

OP
therman

therman

View Badges
Reaction score
Appears to be thriving and beautiful now. I can't even imagine losing an 18" Squamosa.
It was one of the most amazing critters I've ever had the pleasure of keeping. I traded Xenia for it in 2010, and grew it from about 3".

OP
therman

therman

View Badges
Reaction score
I'd put Xenia in my tank if I thought I could trade it for a clam. :) Thanks for posting the stunning clam pics.