Thinking about building an indoor shark pond

JasonK84

I want more!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been messing with saltwater since the summer of 2010. Most recently I set up a 120 fish only aquarium in my living room and now have the itch for a shark (or 2).
Here is the build thread for it. It's been wet since October 5th 2018 and is doing great!

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/120-planet-aquarium-build.458000/

I know 120 is a no go for sharks that will get 3 to 4 feet so I'm considering a 350 to 400+ gallon pond. My wife's hobby is hydroponics and she has started several indoor gardens (nothing illegal). We have been discussing enclosing our back patio and dividing it into 2 rooms. One for her and her gardens and the other side for my saltwater stuff. Our other plan is a prebuilt building that we can set on a concrete pad and finish the inside. The things that are going into my side of the building are my water mixing station that I am building in my non temp controlled garage at the moment, my QT setup, and some shelves for equipment storage. If I can fit it comfortably I want to build a shark lagoon with lots of mangroves in the sump filter area. Thinking 300 gallon Rubbermaid and 150 gallon Rubbermaid tank as the filter/sump area that would be positioned above the shark tank. This pond/lagoon will also house any fish that end up getting big in the 120 that I get attached to. Really just my thinking at the moment since nothing will be done remodel or building wise until spring (Bonus time)!

Sharks I'm wanting most are Horned sharks, and epaulette sharks. Rays are cool too but I don't know if I'll have them or not yet. Probably just a shark or 2 and then pets from the 120 that need more room.

Questions:
What hurdles should I expect to encounter?
Am I thinking crazy?
Any diy sumps made from Rubbermaid stock tanks?

Any advice is greatly appreciated during this planning/research phase.

OP
OP
JasonK84

JasonK84

I want more!!!