This can’t be real- new salt mix disaster

Errattiq

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, I went through all my Red Sea blue bucket and I’m finally tapping into the boat load of live aquaria professional reef salt that I bought last year during their Black Friday sale. I’ve been doing this for 15 years, never have I encountered such horrendous precipitation in my newly mixed saltwater. I’m assuming it’s calcium precipitating out of solution but I’m open to suggestions for those that have dealt with this. The salt mixes clear in my 32 gallon brute container, then a few hours later the water gets extremely cloudy and stays that way. When I tested the water, it shows alkalinity at 6 and calcium just shy of 400 via my Salifert kits. This residue has already jammed the impeller of my mixing pump once, I’d hate to toss 5 boxes of this stuff but I don’t know what else I can do. I add the suggested amount of salt exactly as the directions indicate and I’ve even resorted to adding it over the course of many hours just to make sure the calcium wasn’t precipitating because it was added too quickly. I have the same result each time. I’ve included photos of what’s left over in my mixing container. Any clue?
F889B2C0-7BC2-4D4E-A48A-2D0EBCF42B16.jpeg
E8A67029-CDC7-4810-AA06-17C4002A2932.jpeg
AA65C386-4B25-47EA-8E57-F9332E2E878B.jpeg
D60D7CED-DBC9-416A-978B-97E634D489C2.jpeg

xxkenny90xx

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Weird, I went through one 200g box of that stuff maybe a year ago and didn't have that issue at all. Maybe you got a bad batch?

Mical

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0