Total newbie...best piece of advice?

MereSanity

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have had freshwater tanks for almost 40 years but just set up my FIRST saltwater tank. What’s the one best piece of advice you have for a “newbie”?

polyppal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One word: Patience
An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure in this hobby

Also, theres some great videos from Bulk Reef Supply on youtube about how to successfully start out in the hobby

Joem820

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
While everyone here is going to tell you patience, one thing i think people need to remember is we are supposed to be having FUN and that this should be enjoyable.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Plan everything ahead. Once youve planned, develop a budget
Buy the Best you Cannot afford. It will payoff in the long run.
Do Not buy API test kits as these kits will lie to you with the results
If in doubt - ASK
Do everything slowly

Unlike freshwater, you cannot speed anything up. The word fast is translated into the word Disaster
DO NOT LET IMPULSE GET THE BEST OF YOU !! Its painful to see something beautiful and cheap at a store and know you cant have it. Those who post " I know but I had to" , generally post later - " PLEASE HELP- tank is crashing "
Do Everything slowly
Buy the best you cannot afford
If in doubt - ask

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0