Total noob's 7.4 gal lifegard peninsula aio planted to reef

Jason K

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all. In my 40s, and I'm finally starting my first saltwater tank. Have had freshwater tanks as long as I can remember, and for the last decade or so, I've only been doing nano planted tanks. I decided to convert one of these to a softie/lps reef tank. Here's the progress so far-5 days into cycling and haven't even set up my Prime16HD yet:

thumbnail1a.jpg

thumbnail2a.jpg

My first noob question I'm hoping to get some help with:

I bought a Jebao SW-2 because it had the absolute lowest (published) flow rate I could find. At the lowest setting (supposedly 133 gph), it creates an absolute tornado in the tank. I feel like its way too strong, but it could just be that I have no frame of reference. So, in theory I have 133 gph from this thing, plus approx 40 gph from my return pump at it's lowest setting (based on testing I did at the same head height as the tank) for a total of 173 gph or 35x turnover of display tank water volume (5 gals). Seems too high for softies/lps, and visually feels too high. Should I be concerned?

Alternatively I could run a AC mini pump rated at 50 gph as my powerhead, and crank up my return pump to it's highest setting, which turns out to be about 65gph. So that's a total of 115 gph or 23x turnover. I'm also thinking about having the mini pump turn on/off every 15 to 30 minutes to vary the flow a little bit. So average turnover will be 18x. Seems more appropriate, correct? And I've tested this setup, and I don't see any dead spots in the tank when I stir up detritus. Should this be what I go with?

Here's the tank running with the Jebao. I've attached string from a media bag to try to visualize the flow a bit, but I don't think I'm doing it justice:

OP
OP
Jason K

Jason K

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the input! Have a vca rfa on the way already.

OP
OP