Treating ich

bklynbee

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone I have a fish with Ich in a Fowler tank. I tried a freshwater dip that didn’t work and just finished a round of some herbal medication from Petco that hasn’t worked either. I’m planning on moving the fish to a quarantine tank to treat with copper. Do I have to test for the levels of copper? I’m new to salt water ich so not sure what steps need to be taken. Tia

rmorris_14

TWSS
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out these posts...

rmorris_14

TWSS
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are going to be treating with copper, you should really look into getting a hanna copper test kit to make sure you are accurately dosing at therapeutic levels. If you have other fish in the tank, they will need to be treated as well. You might want to to post a picture of the fish with white lights on, just so one of the experts can confirm you are in fact dealing with ich.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Hi everyone I have a fish with Ich in a Fowler tank. I tried a freshwater dip that didn’t work and just finished a round of some herbal medication from Petco that hasn’t worked either. I’m planning on moving the fish to a quarantine tank to treat with copper. Do I have to test for the levels of copper? I’m new to salt water ich so not sure what steps need to be taken. Tia
Herbal and FW WONT do much if anything
Coppersafe in a separate quarantine setting for 30 days at 80 degrees at therapeutic level 2.25-2.5 monitored with a reliable copper kit … no API brand either

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Copper is the most effective. Hyposinity also works.
I’m not surprised that the herbal remedy didn’t work - those are almost always useless against ich.